On 15th December, the European Commission approved the new Interreg V-A Italy-Croatia 2014-2020 Cross-border Cooperation Programme.
The Programme has a total value of nearly € 237 million, of which € 201 million are from the European Regional Development Fund. It will help both countries to unleash their blue growth potential, by investing on research and innovation for blue economy sectors and it will improve joint climate change monitoring as well as natural hazards prevention. Additionally, it will develop maritime transport to ensure a more sustainable tourism activity and a better spatial distribution of the flows of visitors in the region.
Interreg V-A Italy Croatia programme area covers 33 regions.
In Italy, it includes: Teramo, Pescara, Chieti, Campobasso, Brindisi, Lecce, Fogggia, Bari, Barletta-Andria-Trani, Venezia, Padova, Rovigo, Pordenone, Udine, Gorizia, Trieste, Ferrara, Ravenna, Forlì-Cesena, Rimini, Pesaro e Urbino, Ancona, Macerata, Ascoli Piceno, and Fermo.
In Croatia, it considers: Primorsko-goranska županija, Ličko-senjska županija, Zadarska županija, Šibensko-kninska županija, Splitsko-dalmatinska županija, Istarska županija, Dubrovačko-neretvanska županija, and Karlovačka županija.
The Programme will focus on 5 priorities:

  1. Blue innovation
  2. Safety and resilience
  3. Environmental and cultural heritage
  4. Maritime transport
  5. Technical Assistance

The Managing Authority is at the Regione del Veneto, Department for International Policies and Cooperation.
More information is on the webiste of Regione del Veneto. The Programme website will be available soon.